Sweater Weather: Off Camera

I like to tell myself that a photoshoot can always be salvaged. Whether it’s an unphotogenic model, an overcast day, or tired children, there is a way to make everything picture perfect in the end. Though I had to keep reminding myself of this on one of the windiest and brightest days I have ever done a shoot.

“It’s too bright!”

Creating the shot list was quite easy. Kayla showed me a few things she wanted, and I took care of the rest; most were typical senior photos, but others turned out to be more complex.

Getting the leaves, the wind, and Kayla to work together turned out to be the most difficult part of the shoot. Either her hair blew in her face just as I took the picture, I had the heart leaf framing her when she was not prepared, or everything that could go wrong did go wrong.

Cutting the hearts into the leaves turned out to be a hassle as well. Some were upside down, too small, or just right…but those blew away! Kayla and Alex ended up littering the park with dozens of heart leaves to brighten the afternoon of the next passerby.

Reminder to self: Bring bobby-pins to every photoshoot!

The last picture of the shoot was supposed to have leaves falling around Kayla after she threw them in the air. This was easier said than done. The plan was to have Kayla toss her leaves in the air at the same time Alex threw leaves at her from behind me to give it some depth.

“Just one more picture!”

Although we ran into many issues, we were able to compile enough flattering photos to call this a success.

Keep an eye out for the Sweater Weather album to drop next week in my portfolio, but in the meantime here is a sneak peak!

Alison

Leave a comment